The Book Club of Doom! Amatka, by Karin Tidbeck

The Book Club of Doom!
 





From the sunkissed SoCal apocalypse of Claire Vaye Watkins' Gold Fame Citrus to the hallucinatory metafiction of Satoshi Kon's Opus, writers from across the literary spectrum have embraced science fiction as a tool to interrogate an increasingly dystopian present. Our mission is to introduce their provocative and sophisticated work to an audience of curious newcomers and veteran dorks of all stripes and sizes. 

The club will be meeting at 2:00 pm on the second Saturday of every month.

Attendance is free; just bring a copy our book for the month and a good attitude. 

Friendly discussion, coffee, and other surprises are on us.
 


 
Mothership: Tales from Afrofuturism and Beyond - March 10th
OPUS by Satoshi Kon - April 14th
Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor - May 12th
Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins - June 9th
Amatka by Karin Tidbeck - July 14th
Everfair by Nisi Shawl - August 11th
Super Extra Grande by Yoss - September 8th

 
About Amatka and Karin Tidbeck:
"Dystopian fiction is now a franchise operation. A catalogue of the limits of our ability to imagine the future. Karin Tidbeck has given us something entirely new. Her strange colony of Amatka refuses to comport to our prejudices about political environments in fiction. A chilly post-truth parable wrapped in quiet love and an essential Nordic strangeness."  — From Staff Picks

ONE OF THE GUARDIAN'S BEST SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY BOOKS OF 2017

A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin.

Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion.

 

Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.

 

In Karin Tidbeck's world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing--not even language, nor the very fabric of reality--can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.

 
Karin Tidbeck is originally from Stockholm, Sweden. She lives and works in Malmö as a freelance writer, translator, and creative-writing teacher, and writes fiction in Swedish and English. She debuted in 2010 with the Swedish short story collection Vem är Arvid Pekon? Her English debut, the 2012 collection Jagannath, was awarded the Crawford Award 2013 and short-listed for the World Fantasy Award.


 
Event date: 
Saturday, July 14, 2018 - 2:00pm to 4:00pm
Event address: 
Penn Book Center
130 S. 34th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6304
Staff Pick Logo
Amatka Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781101973950
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - June 27th, 2017

Get rewards!

Now every time you spend $100 with us, get $10 off your next purchase! Sign up on your next visit!