"Too Much" w/ Rachel Vorona Cote

 
Please Join Us for a Reading & Discussion w/

RACHEL VORONA COTE, Author of Too Much:
 How Victorian Constraints Still Bind Women Today

Ft Special Guest, SARAH MARSHALL

About Too Much:

Lacing cultural criticism, Victorian literature, and storytelling together, "TOO MUCH spills over: with intellect, with sparkling prose, and with the brainy arguments of Vorona Cote, who posits that women are all, in some way or another, still susceptible to being called too much." (Esmé Weijun Wang)
 

Written in the tradition of Shrill, Dead Girls, Sex Object and other frank books about the female gaze, TOO MUCH encourages women to reconsider the beauty of their excesses-emotional, physical, and spiritual. Rachel Vorona Cote braids cultural criticism, theory, and storytelling together in her exploration of how culture grinds away our bodies, souls, and sexualities, forcing us into smaller lives than we desire. An erstwhile Victorian scholar, she sees many parallels between that era's fixation on women's "hysterical" behavior and our modern policing of the same; in the space of her writing, you're as likely to encounter Jane Eyre and Lizzie Bennet as you are Britney Spears and Lana Del Rey. This book will tell the story of how women, from then and now, have learned to draw power from their reservoirs of feeling, all that makes us "Too Much."

 
Rachel Vorona Cote publishes frequently in such outlets as the New Republic, Longreads, Pitchfork, Rolling Stone, Literary Hub, Catapult, the Poetry Foundation, Hazlitt, and the Los Angeles Review of Books, where her essay on Taylor Swift and Victorian female friendship was one of the site's most read essays in 2015. She was also previously a contributing writer at Jezebel. Rachel holds a BA from the College of William and Mary and was ABD in a doctoral program in English at the University of Maryland, studying and teaching the literature of the Victorian period. She and her husband live in Takoma Park, MD, just outside of Washington, D.C..
 

Sarah Marshall is a writer-in-residence at the Black Mountain Institute in Las Vegas, and co-hosts You’re Wrong About, a podcast about misremembered history.

 

 
Event date: 
Tuesday, February 25, 2020 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
130 South 34th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Too Much: How Victorian Constraints Still Bind Women Today Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781538729700
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - February 25th, 2020